The protests in Mozambique are disturbing

February 16, 2008

And so is the GlobalVoices coverage (though I understand Global Voices just reports and in this case, reports from one source).

I actually wrote a long post explaining why I’m disturbed but I guess my sense of solidarity and my lassitude prevent me from posting it. In short, no this is not the masses rising and demanding responsibility from their government or some sort of new dawn. A peasant rebellion would be (but then it will be allied with imperialists, wouldn’t it ?). It’s refusal to understand that Mozambique’s resources are limited and that something got to give one way or another.

But yeah, which rural health program or which road will be cancelled to subsidize fares in Maputo ?

2 Responses to “The protests in Mozambique are disturbing”

  1. marie Says:

    become a GV editor :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

